It’s Definitely a Happy New Year!

When I look back and think about 2016, the first thing which comes to mind is: whoa!

2016 went by pretty quick. When I realized that we were a few days away from 2017, I couldn’t help but wonder where the days have gone. I still remember so many events as if it was just yesterday and, all of a sudden, without me noticing, the year has changed.

Back then, I wasn’t able to open 2016 happily. It was depressing and I felt like I was drowning. My heart broke from the feelings and memories which kept haunting me. Truthfully, if I could go back in time and meet myself a year ago, I would slap myself real hard and grab myself away from that moment because it was foolish. Goodness, my old self was so embarrassing that I can’t even do anything but laugh my way out of that horrid memory.

Last year definitely started bad but I don’t really regret going through that phase at the beginning of 2016. Why? It’s because it became my stepping stone to make myself better….or something like that.

I wanted to heal and forget by keeping myself busy. I decided that 2016 would be a year for self-improvement just like the year before it. But, this time, I was more determined to pursue this goal. I became wiser and I was able to gain the feeling of wanting to go out of the house to do something different once in a while. It probably was the influence of friends back in 2015, I guess.

2016 was one heck of a ride. I was able to leave the country twice, participate in small and huge events, occasionally meet up with friends once a month, and go to places I wouldn’t usually go on my own. It was packed with so many activities that I didn’t notice the time passing by.

2016 made me lose and gain people. Even though I lost some friends along the way, I was able to find genuine people who are willing to sit by my side when I’m at my lowest and hit me with advice when I needed it the most. They were there to listen and laugh with me. Despite being busy, we’re able to find a way to meet and catch up with how our lives are going. Finding them is one of the blessings that I’m really thankful for in 2016. And, I consider myself lucky for having them.

In 2016, I have learned to say no to the things and favors I was asked to do but didn’t want to do. I have confronted matters which weighed on my mind and dropped it as soon as I got my answers. It didn’t matter whether I looked silly, crazy, or weird. All that mattered was how I felt. I was able to act the way I wanted to act and it made me comfortable with myself this way. I got along better with my friends too.

I was able to achieve things. I did things I didn’t think I’d end up doing. A lot has happened and I’m happy how things turned out to be.

I mean, who would have thought that I’d be one of the players in a sport event between 5 countries? Who would have thought that I’d be performing in a concert? Who would have thought that I’d be able to start investing on things? Who would have thought that I’d be acknowledged for being a part of producing a film? Who would have thought that a lazy person like me would be up and about every night for practices and activities? Who would have thought that I’d be able to cross out a few things in my bucket list?

No one. Even I, myself, wouldn’t even think about it in the past. It just kind of happened, you know?

As I was welcoming the year 2017 at a camping site next to the campfire, I looked back and thought of all these things. For some reason, I felt like I have received a lot during that night.

True, I got a lot of presents (happy because I can use them for traveling) but there’s more to it than those material things.

I felt like nothing weighs me down and I can take on the world any time any day.

I felt like I’m being loved by so many people.

I felt like I’m light and free. It’s like I’m being freed from all the things which haunted me the past year.

I felt so content, proud, and accomplished.

Somehow, I felt so blessed and it made me happy to the core.

2016 gave me lots of surprises and showed me so many things. I’m afraid 2017 has a lot to live up to but I’m not going to stop doing things anyway.

So, yea! Here’s to more adventures, memory-making, and achievements this year! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Leave a Reply

