Little Misadventures on My First Solo Trip

Traveling solo for the first time was both nerve-wracking and exciting at the same time. As someone who stayed at home most of the time as a child and as someone who’s used to follow people around during a trip, I feared that I wouldn’t be able to do much on my own.

Honestly speaking, I had doubts whether to push through traveling solo to Georgia. I even had the thought of cancelling my trip. As the day of my departure came closer, I felt my heart plummeting to my stomach. My hands were cold and it kept sweating like crazy. I was getting scared. However, whenever I thought of the adventure I was about to take, I immediately got bubbly and couldn’t wait to fly.

flower
Pretty flowers on my hotel room window. I think it’s fake though.

Of course, since it was my first time traveling solo (and out of the country at that), it wouldn’t be surprising that I would encounter some problems. Below, I will tell you my little misadventures which I have experienced during my trip to Georgia.


As soon as I stepped out of the airport, I got mixed with a group of people and was transported to a different hotel. My flight was delayed by an hour or so. When I was able to fetch my belongings and went out of the arrival gate, I didn’t find anyone waiting for me. So, I went straight to change the money I was holding and tried to spot the person who’s picking me up while waiting in line. I didn’t see my name on anything but I did spot a travel agency whose name was written on my ticket. Naturally, I went ahead and asked. The person from the travel agency said that my name was not on the list but still made me go to their bus to sort things out.

Then, I was out of the airport and was wondering why I was having this problem as soon as I landed. To cut things short, I was transported to a different hotel and waited for 2 or 3 hours before getting everything fixed. Apparently, the person who was supposed to pick me up left for a while (because my arrival was delayed) to pick somebody else up. How was I supposed to know that?

I’m not sure where things got messed up. Was it when the person got me mixed up with other people even though I wasn’t on their list or when the person who was supposed to pick me up left?

This little incident made me miss a walking tour I had booked myself with and messed my plan a little. But since I was tired during that time and didn’t want to ruin my mood than it already was, I let it slide. Hey, I was able to get a free road trip, so, whatever.


img_2344
One of the long escalators in Tbilisi’s underground metro stations.

I had no idea which train station I had to go to in order for me to reach my hotel. Going around an unknown place, without a map or an internet to refer to, is tough. Asking around isn’t that much of a help either because only a few can understand you. I tried asking the person at the train ticket counter but all she gave me was a confused look. I was doing all the charades, trying to make her to understand, but I failed.

I have to tell you this — pronouncing the name of the places in Georgia is hard! I doubt that, even though I knew where to go, the locals wouldn’t understand me if I did say it.

Good thing, someone offered to help me. He asked what I wanted to know and, me in turn, told him what I wanted. He helped me identify the station I needed to get off to. In addition to that, he paid for my train fare, carried the stuff I was carrying, and dropped me all the way to my hotel! When I asked how much should I pay him for everything he did, he refused! He asked to be friends on Facebook though.


The rain got me. As I was walking around the streets of Rustaveli Avenue, I had a feeling that it was going to rain. The sky changed to a familiar grayish color and the smell of the air became different.

I was happy when the wind picked up and became chilly but I knew that I’m screwed if I didn’t find a shelter soon. The problem I faced during that time though was the fact that the whole street was filled with shops. Not that it’s the problem, really. It was my indecisiveness and anxiety which became a problem.

I can’t remember how many times I went back and forth the streets (Both sides. I crossed a lot because why not?) in order to find a shelter. Should I get inside the shops? Should I go to another place?

img_2172
Rode a bus to take this view of Marjanishvili Avenue.

There was a moment when I went inside a shop, bought some things, pondered whether I should stay in it for a while, and then took off because I felt like I shouldn’t be there.

It was a long walk and, around the middle when I was in an open space, the rain poured. I ran and ended up taking a shelter under a huge tree which, by the way, was a first for me. I was tempted to sing the song “I’m Singing in the Rain” and record myself while walking briskly towards the tree but I was scared of getting my phone and power bank wet! It was silly but I had the thought of getting  myself electrocuted.

I did get my clothes soaked with rain water but the wind dried it off for me right away. It’s a good thing that I did not catch a cold because of it.


These misadventures became part of the stories I was able to share with my loved ones and a memory I can always laugh at. And, with that, my three day trip to Georgia became fun and extra memorable.

Leave a Reply

