Pinto Art Museum

I’m going to be honest; sometimes, I suck at understanding art. Paintings, statues, or whatever there is in an art museum would take time in my head before it gets processed (mainly because I space out after thinking). Unless if there’s a really helpful explanation by it’s side, then I’ll understand immediately.

I, however, do like looking at it. I appreciate how well the art has been done. I admire it as much as others do. Maybe not the same as the art fanatics where they admire even the materials used and the strokes…but yeah, you get my drift.

Before going back to the Philippines for vacation, I searched for so many things to do in Antipolo. Why Antipolo? Well, it’s because I live in this city and I knew that I’ll be in it most of the days.

I was actually surprised that, even though I live in this city, I wasn’t aware that Pinto Art Museum exists! Shame? Maybe. So, I made sure to visit once I had a chance.

Once you enter the museum, starting from the reception where you get your entrance tickets, you’ll see art everywhere — literally. Once you step inside the compound, it feels as though you’re taken back to the old days. I don’t know; it was the feeling it gave me.

Maybe because the whole place gave me a monochromatic view while the sun was setting down?

White buildings, white walls, white chairs, and white crisp beds (white everything haha) would greet you along with statues and sculptures. Some of them looked old and creepy to me so, maybe, it was the reason why I had that kind of feeling. It’s probably just me but all I can say is that going inside this museum would make you feel that you’re out of the country.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
A chapel inside the compound.

You know what’s so great about this museum? The art weren’t confined inside a single building alone. They were everywhere. So, when you’re done viewing art and artifacts at your first destination, you start walking to the next building to view the others. And then, you’re out again with nature. They will give you a map in order for you to find your way around the 1.3 hectare museum so don’t stress about where you should head to next.

Maybe you’re wondering, “what’s so great about walking outside? From one building to the other? That’s such a hassle.

Actually, walking around to get to places was one of the most enjoyable things I did in there. Like I said, the place takes you out of the country. The structure of the buildings gives you that kind of atmosphere. There were sculptures displayed along the way too! Simply put, the view is relaxing and is absolutely beautiful.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Greece? Nope! It’s one of the buildings inside the 1.3 hectare land at Pinto Art Museum.

It’s not just that. Since it’s a 1.3 hectare museum, you will end up finding passageways which passes under the trees. Some, would take you to the rooftops. Others will bring you back to where you previously were.

It’s as if you’re in an adventure!

Sadly, I wasn’t able to take pictures of the passageways because my phone ran out of space. If there’s one thing I fail at doing, it’s deleting pictures in my phone! What can I do? I feel like I’m deleting a memory if I delete them even though I have uploaded them on Facebook. Ugh.

Anyway, if you’re planning to go and visit Pinto Art Museum, I suggest going on weekdays. There will be less people and you’ll be able to take beautiful pictures without worrying about a photobomber. You can also skip having to wait for other visitors to pass in order to take the perfect shot of your subject. You’ll also be able to pay for the entrance fee a little bit cheaper too!

Hungry and you haven’t finished exploring the museum yet? Don’t fret! They have cafés inside. It will save you the trouble of trying to appease your tummy’s anger.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Feeling explorer while going up to the mini coliseum on the roof top.

However, if you can’t make it on weekdays and can only visit on a weekend, you should go early in the morning before lunch. Yeah, I know it’ll be too hot and all but you see, after lunch, the place gets packed with people. If that’s not an issue with you, then feel free to go ahead and explore the place and admire different kinds of art.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
A place where you can take time to sit down and relax while enjoying the scenery.

One last thing — don’t go there an hour before the museum closes. This is a mistake me and my siblings have done. Because the museum is too big, an hour was not enough for us to fully explore it. The result? We weren’t able to see it all especially the areas which I wanted to see.

Sad, I know. But, hey! It’s a reason for me to go back and explore the places I haven’t seen!

With that said, I’ll see you next time, Pinto Art Museum!

Leave a Reply

