Traditional Arabic Breakfast at Saffron by Jena

Upon entering a small street in Muharraq, particularly at Al Qaisariya Souq, you will find a gem called Saffron by Jena.

I didn’t expect to find such a restaurant inside the souq and I am so happy to discover such a place thanks to my friends who brought me there. I mean, I’ve been living in Muharraq for almost 4 or 5 years and I had no idea that such a lovely place is located near me.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
Saffron by Jena’s meal board! I don’t remember seeing a kabab roll tho.

Saffron by Jena serves traditional arabic (or should I say Bahraini?) food and I must say, as a first timer, that I loved it! The breakfast consists of potatoes, hummus with foul, beans, egg and tomato, balaleet, dates, cottage cheese, maheyawa, bread with cheese and jam, and aloo sandwich. That’s a lot, isn’t it?

I’m not going to say that I liked balaleet but that’s just me and my tongue. You see, I’m not really fond of sweets and balaleet happens to be one. If you like um ali (an arabic dessert), then this one is for you.

This is what they typically serve for breakfast; therefore, don’t be surprised for not receiving a menu when you settle down on your table. However, if you want to try a lot, it wouldn’t hurt to ask if they serve other food for breakfast; so, go ahead and ask. As for us, we added eggs with mixed vegetables because why not? We were on a food trip anyway.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
This is what we had for breakfast! We had orange juice on mason jars too!*

The food was really great! You won’t get fed up of it because the flavor of the food won’t overwhelm your taste buds. It is guaranteed that you won’t lose appetite after a few bites. You get what I’m saying? It’s perfect! It’s no wonder that Saffron by Jenna received Time Out Bahrain’s Restaurant Award for the best Bahraini restaurant in two consecutive years (2014-2015)!

I can still remember the taste and feel of the food in my mouth. Truth be told, I’m salivating right now as I’m writing this.

Now, when I first entered the restaurant, the first thing I noticed was the glass I was standing on. I was so fascinated by the fact that there’s a space below me and the ground. I was standing there, staring at the glass for a few seconds!

Looking around, the interior gave a traditional feel. It was bright in there too! It looked so white and I loved it! The place was small but the arrangement of the furniture and how they maximized the space made it look somewhat spacious. There were no other customers during that time so it might have become a factor as to why I viewed it that way.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset
This is what you’ll see when you enter the restaurant. No, not the pretty lady holding the camera, but the setup of the place. Lovely, isn’t it? I mean both are lovely — the lady and the place.

And, since there were no other people, we had the luxury to fool around and take photos! We had the whole place to ourselves first and enjoyed it. Fun, isn’t it?

So, if you want to try something new or if you happen to visit Bahrain on a vacation, I suggest giving Saffron by Jena a try! You can find it in three locations — Manama Souq, Muharraq Souq, and Riffa Fort.  If you’re near one, go pay them a visit! It will surely not disappoint!

*Photo credits to Ms. Jeramil Maravillosa (IG: @hikarinoa) for the starred and featured photos.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. hikarinoa says:

    love your post! hahaha! ❤

    1. Prim says:

      Haha! Thank you! I’m glad you liked it.♥

Leave a Reply

